Less is more: the movie

DOCUMENTARY

Imagine only working half the year and surfing the rest of the time. It may seem like an impossible dream, but it’s the lifestyle chosen by the Surf Island Family. A simple, stripped-back life, punctuated by the sound of the waves. Discover the family and their unusual, intriguing and inspiring way of life.

WHO ARE THE SURF ISLAND FAMILY?

Charlotte, Benjamin, Jules and Valentin are a family of surfers from the west coast of France. Benjamin discovered surfing at high school, at around 15/16 years old, while Charlotte, who comes from a background of sailing and boarding, started around age 9 or 10. Now both teachers on the Ile de Ré, they came up with a plan to arrange their schedules so they could work for just half of the year. The rest of the time, they travel the world’s coastlines, experiencing new cultures and exploring surf spots. Along with their two children, Jules, 13, and Valentin, 10, they give us an insight into their unusual and inspiring way of life.

Showing them that by making do with LESS (clothing, objects, purchases, activities, meetings, money), you have MORE (time, conversation, contemplation, reading, positive frustration, intensity) and act BETTER (frugally, thoughtfully, independently).

THEIR WAY OF LIFE

Both part-time teachers, Charlotte and Benjamin set themselves the challenge of spreading their two half-salaries across the entire year, to offer their children the lifestyle of their dreams.
From September to February, they live on the Ile de Ré, where Charlotte is from. Between classes, they make the most of the autumn and winter swells to go surfing with their two sons. The rest of the time, they travel the globe in search of remote waves and new encounters.
For their plan to work, they needed to learn how to consume less… and better.
By adopting this approach to life, they wanted to show their children the benefits of having fewer but better quality things.

Through our choices and way of living, we have shown that by not pursuing wealth and the accumulation of objects, we get the chance to access much, much more. Having fewer but better quality things benefits us all.

THE PROJECT PARTNERS

For extra support with their plans, the Surf Island Family has chosen to team up with partners who are compatible with their values and way of life. CROSSCALL has therefore joined the project alongside other French brands such as EQ-Love and Picture Organic Clothing.

Equipped with their TREKKER-X4, the young family can share their daily adventures on land as well as in water.

“WHATEVER THE FUTURE HAS IN STORE, WE WILL CONTINUE TO TRAVEL”

Photo credits : Surf Island Family / Bia PINHO / Pierre FRECHOU / Mathias JOUBERT

LESS IS MORE, A DOCUMENTARY BY MATHIAS JOUBERT

Mathias Joubert, independent director behind the film IN GORA, followed the family on their most recent trip to Indonesia. In a 52-minute documentary entitled LESS IS MORE, he gives a glimpse into their unusual way of life and addresses the social and environmental challenges of our time.

 

gear used

you will also like :

CROSSCALL ambassador playlist

To help you keep peace in this time of confinement, our ambassadors want to share with you their favourite songs for dancing, relaxing or exercising.

LIVRAISON OFFERTE À PARTIR DE 150€ D'ACHAT
LIVRAISON À DOMICILE GARANTIE

Less is more movie

DOCUMENTAIRE

Travailler la moitié de l’année et surfer le reste du temps, voilà le mode de vie qu’a choisi la Surf Island Family. Une vie simple et épurée, loin de la surconsommation, rythmée par le bruit des vagues. Découvrez cette famille au style de vie atypique, intriguant et inspirant.

Qui est la Surf Island Family ?

Charlotte, Benjamin, Jules et Valentin sont une famille de surfeurs originaire de la côte ouest française. Benjamin a découvert le surf au milieu du lycée, vers 15-16 ans et Charlotte, issue d’une famille de voileux et planchistes vers 9-10 ans. Tous les deux enseignants à l’Ile de Ré, ils ont décidé d’aménager leur emploi du temps de sorte à travailler la moitié de l’année et à sillonner les côtes à la découverte de nouvelles cultures et spots de surf l’autre moitié. Accompagnés de leurs deux enfants, Jules 13 ans et Valentin 10 ans, ils partagent avec nous leur mode de vie atypique et inspirant.

Leur faire vivre le fait qu’avec MOINS (de vêtements, d’objets, d’achats, d’occupations, de rendez-vous, d’argent), on a PLUS (de temps, de conversation, de contemplation, de lecture, de frustration positive, d’intensité) et on agit MIEUX (avec économie, avec réflexion, en autonomie).

Leur mode de vie

Tous les deux enseignants à mi-temps, Charlotte et Benjamin se sont lancés le défi d’équilibrer leur deux demi salaires d’enseignants sur toute une année afin de pouvoir offrir à leurs enfants le mode de vie dont ils rêvent.
De septembre à février, ils vivent à l’ile de Ré d’où Charlotte est originaire. Entre deux classes, ils profitent des houles automnales et hivernales pour aller surfer avec leurs deux fils. Le reste du temps, ils sillonnent le globe à la recherche de vagues isolées et de nouvelles rencontrent.
Pour y parvenir, ils ont dû apprendre à consommer moins et mieux.
À travers ce mode de vie, ils souhaitent montrer à leurs enfants qu’avec moins de choses mais de meilleure qualité, la balance est largement positive.

Nous illustrons à travers nos choix et notre mode de vie que renoncer à l’enrichissement et à l’accumulation d’objets permet d’accéder à bien plus. Avec moins de choses, mais de bien meilleure qualité, la balance est largement positive.

LES PARTENAIRES DU PROJET

Pour les accompagner dans ce projet de vie, la Surf Island Family a choisi de s’entourer de partenaires en adéquation avec leurs valeurs et leur mode de vie. Ainsi CROSSCALL a pris part au projet aux côtés d’autres marques françaises tels que EQ-Love et Picture Organic Clothing.

Equipée de leurs TREKKER-X4, la petite famille peut donc partager quotidiennement ses aventures sur terre comme dans l’eau. 

« Quoi que l’avenir nous réserve, nous continuerons de voyager »

Crédits Photos : Surf Island Family / Bia PINHO / Pierre FRECHOU / Mathias JOUBERT

LESS IS MORE, un documentaire signé Mathias Joubert

Mathias Joubert, réalisateur indépendant à l’origine du film IN GORA, les a suivis lors de leur dernier voyage en Indonésie. À travers un documentaire de 52 minutes intitulé LESS IS MORE, il a souhaité partager leur mode de vie et ainsi aborder les problématiques sociales et environnementales de notre société. 

 

équipement utilisé

vous aimerez aussi :

Ils utilisent leur tablette partout

Dans l’eau salée à -1° ? Pas de problème. Netflix sous la tente ? Bien sûr ! Utilisation intensive d’une semaine sans recharger sa batterie ? Mais évidemment ! Nos ambassadeurs nous expliquent leur utilisation de la CORE-T4.

Objectif Route du Rhum 2022

CROSSCALL s’engage pour les trois prochaines années aux côtés du double Champion du monde de ski freeride et skipper, Aurélien Ducroz. Objectif, la Route du Rhum 2022 !

Playlists ambassadeurs CROSSCALL

Pour vous aider à garder le rythme en cette période de confinement, nos ambassadeurs partagent avec vous leurs titres préférés pour danser, se relaxer ou faire du sport.